The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

June 17, 2012 § 2 Comments

ImageYesterday night, I broke my addiction to Netflix and I stepped into a movie theatre with my good friend Maryanne. By accident, it was a movie about living alone in older age in the UK!  My friend is passionate about British acting.

I was amazed to see so many specters on aging alone in the US popping up from the script. Too busy eating my sushi, I could not take notes. Judy Dench is a widow who inherited a ton of debt from her husband. Maggie Smith flies to India to have a hip operation that would be too expensive in England. Tom Wilkinson is a gay retiree who spent  most of his life in an emotional jail. There are also two single seniors wondering whether it is too late for them to find a partner and enjoy orgasms. All the characters of the movie find rather natural to move into an hotel for “the elderly and the beautiful” in a town in India. The ageism that emerges in the movie is disheartening, despite the terrific acting and the happy ending.

So many thoughts emerged. Does “the elderly and beautiful” name of the hotel mean that you are either old or beautiful? Is segregation by age becoming more and more natural in England too? Are social welfare policies in England good enough to accommodate the growing needs of older Britons living solo? Is ageism in the UK stronger than I imagined?

§ 2 Responses to The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

  • Maryann says:

    Great reflection on this movie. There were so many messages, and similar to the way they reflected life in India being fast and impactful, so was the movie. I appreciate this post for giving me food for thought.

  • Jessica huckabay says:

    I really liked your post about the Marigold hotel movie. I also saw it with my 73 yr old friend we both loved it. But your post helped me look at it in a different light. Thank you.

    Jessica Huckabay

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel at Living alone and aging.

meta

