Italy

August 30, 2012 § Leave a comment

In my recent trip to Italy, I celebrated the 70s birthday of my favorite solo dweller, my mamma.

At the same I was struck by parallels between living alone in the US and in Italy. I was struck by the story in  the Italian newspaper La Repubblica about a solo dweller in his 50s who lost his job in a FIAT factory and had to go by with 500 euros a month. This man moved back in with his parents, avoided friends because he did not have money, and spent how time walking by himself. Walking did not cost him anything.

In the same paper journalist Guglielmo Pepe mentioned the struggles of older Italians living alone with a budget of 500 euros. It is time for me to learn much more about living alone in my country of origin.

To end on a positive note, a picture from the day of my mamma’s birthday, a wonderful day

Imagel

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Italy at Living alone and aging.

meta

