Reality Check

September 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

As I check Facebook for updates of friends and family members scattered around the world, I read this note from Kathryn Stambaugh:

It’s a sad day … we closed down the adult day health center I helped to start nine years ago. Crappy (and stupid, short-sighted) state budget cuts!

I remember when Kathryn opened the center for low-income older adults, mostly African Americans,  in East Oakland for Lifelong Medical Care. I was there. I visited the center from time to time and I remember the excitement of staff and participants.I was excited too. It was a really needed oasis in one of the poorest neighborhoods in California. Yes, it is a sad day. Adult day health centers are a vital part of our community. For older adults living alone, using an adult day health center is often the way to avoid a dreaded nursing home. This should not have happened. Kathryn, I feel you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reality Check at Living alone and aging.

meta

